What I… Nicola from 3Trolls

Today I’m sharing my space with a 40-something mom of 3 trolls

Nicola shares her life with her 3 boys and blogs about her loves, losses and journey. She loves people. places. design, coffee, books, art, colour and new places

Recently divorced, Nicola moved to London in July 2019 to set up a new life with the aim to bring her boys across from Cape Town so her blog also documents the roller coaster ride that is starting again!

Nicola says she started her blog because she enjoys writing and sharing her experiences as a twin mom, mom to 3 boys and as someone who suffers from depression.

She wanted to be able to show people that life can suck…. and you can still get through it! That being a twin mom is a challenge and a wonderful love affair, that depression is a terrible illness and not something to be ashamed of and that you can get out of the black hole and be ok, and lastly, that when life falls apart you can pick yourself up and start again!

Read on below for more about Nicola.

What I…

Know…

Despite everything I think I am a good mom and a good friend.
I am a “warrior” and can tackle pretty much anything life throws at me (and it’s thrown me a lot of curve balls!).
I have raised 3 amazing boys with the help of their dad, family and friends
You can learn to love yourself.
You can get through depression and learn how to manage it.
Seeing a therapist or psychologist is an incredible gift to yourself.

Love…

My boys – they are my heart and my rock, I am SO proud of the young men they are becoming.
My family – I have an amazing family who have been so supportive to the boys and I over the years.
My friends – new and old – I am blessed with some incredible friends and I’m not sure I’d be here if it weren’t for a few of them.
My furbabies (dogs) – Roxy and Bella.
Good coffee, chilled wine, a good whisky.
Flowers, plants, fields and lakes – nature feeds my soul in so many ways.
Music – almost all genres with only a few little exceptions.
Taking photographs.
The two little tattoos I had done in January, the fact that I squeezed myself into a wet suit for a surfing lesson at the age of 40 and that I have been brave enough to enter the world of online dating…

Read…

Novels, self help books, travel stories, the occasional recipe book and magazines.
I cannot read on a screen – love the feel of a book in my hand and turning the pages.
Currently reading “The beekeeper of Aleppo” by Christy Lefteri.
As a child I loved The Secret Garden, Wind in the Willows and Little Women – all of which I have read many times!

Want…

To be happy with who I am and what I see reflected back in the mirror or in photographs
My children to find their passion in life and then do it.
To find love again.
A little house/converted barn/renovators dream in the countryside – I yearn to lead a simpler life.
My home to be a place my boys always feel comfortable and welcome any time, no matter what.
Flowers, music, family and friends to always fill my home.
To find my passion and go for it
To give back to society more – I donate blood and platelets, but would love to be able to help moms (especially moms of twins and multiples) and somehow help people who suffer from depression. Have no idea how yet – open to suggestions!

Wear…

Not a fashion follower – learnt a long time ago my body doesn’t go well with fashion!
Lots and lots of colour and patterns – I’d be hard pressed to find a fully black or grey outfit!
Pretty and matching underwear when possible – comes from years of having to wear really ugly bras!
My weakness is shoes, handbags and hats – one always looks good in these 3 items – and if the bag and shoes can match my outfit even better lol!
Oh and perfume – always perfume – floral notes of course with a touch of musk.

Need…

My boys to get to London and join me as soon as possible.
To keep in touch with my family and friends.
To be loved and happy.
That little cottage in the country.
To know my family and friends are happy.
To be able to get the boys and myself to Cape Town for my goddaughter (and cousin) wedding in April 2021.

Kathryn Rossiter

Kathryn is a South African lifestyle blogger and mom of 2 who has been blogging daily for over 9 years! She writes about travel, health, beauty, fashion, decor and family... but not food (unless it's food she's eaten made by someone else) as she is a hopeless cook. She only wakes up early for 2 things... a red-eye flight to somewhere exotic and early morning game drives. She has just finished an extensive home renovation and would prefer to never see another box again. She's never met a chocolate or glass of bubbles that she didn't like!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.