Gembox review and competition

By on May 2, 2013 in Families, Kids, Lifestyle, Motherhood, My Photography, My Reviews, Product Reviews, Video Reviews, Win 35

Do you remember walking into Baby City the first time? I do – I was about 6 months pregnant and thought it would be about the right time to start shopping for the essential new baby items. I walked in, saw the huge amount of products and choices available, had a hormonal moment and promptly walked out in tears feeling completely overwhelmed! Shopping for a baby when you’ve never HAD a baby is not an easy task – how do you know which products you need, let alone which is the best one for your precious bundle! That is why the baby box concept is such a helpful one.

Gembox is a monthly subscription service that allows new moms to subscribe to receive baby products delivered to their door for them to try before they buy! It’s a great concept for all new moms and an especially lovely gift to bless a friend with at her baby shower – be it one box or a monthly subscription – and a really convenient option for those friends and family members expecting babies across the country too as the postage is included in the price!

This month I was sent a Gembox baby box to review and I thought I would share the contents of the box in a video review for a change! Watch it here:

If you aren’t able to watch that review then here is a breakdown of what was in my box this month:

gembox

Elizabeth Anne’s Special Baby Shampoo (full size) – This is how new babies should smell! That scent is unmistakable and seriously yummy! This is a gentle soap-free formulation suitable from birth and won’t burn little eyes or irritate sensitive skin (although you might need to check this out as my babies both couldn’t use any scented products – unfortunately!)

Mumomega Prenatal vitamins (10 capsules) – essential for the development of the brain, Omega 3 and 6 supplements should be at the top of any preggie mom’s shopping list – before, during and after pregnancy!

Johnson’s Baby Bedtime Bath (sample size) – formulated with NaturalCalm essences to aid sleep (anything for sleep I say!)

Purity Rice Cereal Gluten Free (sample size) – the perfect first food for baby (besides breast milk…). Contains Vit C, B1 and B2 plus Calcium, Phosphorus, Iron & Zinc – all essential for your baby’s development.

Clicks Baby toothbrush – pop this on your finger to keep baby’s teeth and gums clean. Also great for relieving the teething pain and itch!

Bennetts Baby Tooth Wipes – another product for using to keep little teeth clean, this one is in the form of disposable wipes.

Cherubs Eco Cotton Rounds – perfect for wiping sticky eyes, bums, hands, faces etc etc. Actually everything! These are 100% cotton, eco friendly, flushable and biodegradable!

Keedo 100 % cotton long sleeved t-shirt with R50 gift voucher to spend on this cute designer range of kids clothes

Living & Loving magazine – a really informative and helpful guide for all new moms with plenty of advice on every topic!

It’s NB to bear in mind the contents is different each month! Click here to see my previous Gembox review in August 2012. As you can see the boxes have improved in both quantity and quality of products!

You can subscribe for your Gembox on a monthly basis for R119 (including delivery) or buy a three, six or 12-month subscription at a discounted rate. For more information you can visit their website www.gemgem.co.za/boxes or contact them via info@gemgem.co.za or +27 713 519 086 .

I am happy to say I am running a competition for 3 lucky ladies to win a Gembox delivered to their door (or to a friend!) Follow the steps below to enter…

How To Enter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Competition ends on Thursday 9 May and winner will be announced on Friday 10 May.

Images: Kathryn Rossiter

Come find me on Google +

Loot

, , , , , , , , , ,

35 Responses to Gembox review and competition

  1. Monique Ross May 2, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Baby Wipes & Disposable Nappies

  2. Ruweida Muhammad May 2, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    A dummy

  3. Kim Muller May 2, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    I always make a nappy cake for a baby shower. Including disposable diapers, and lots of small items inbetween.

  4. cirsten van den heuvel May 2, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    I always buy a cloth nappy and lots of bibs and muslin clothes for burping

  5. Roxanne May 2, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    I would rather give the lucky mom a gift voucher because not everyone uses the products you use, and giving them a voucher allows them to shop as they need and for what they want. :-)

  6. Claire van Apeldoorn May 2, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Clothes or toiletries..Its something you always need so you cant have too much of it and with the clothes I always make sure I buy a bigger size

  7. Jassika Sheikh May 2, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    I always make up a hamper with baby nappy rash cream, lotions, soap – a baby toiletry basket.

  8. Lorien May 2, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Nappies and wipes.

  9. rehana seedat May 2, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Baby wipes and a dummy

  10. Dhesh May 2, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    a cute outfit and some practical stuff – I found the practical gifts most useful – things such as nappies, wipes, Telament drops, bottles. etc

  11. Lisa May 2, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I try to always buy something on the Mum-to-be’s wish list. But other useful things I buy are vests, Baby Sense items, wetwipes etc

  12. Lizelle Goliath May 2, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    I always buy what’s asked of me lol… But always include EA & Purity special baby shampoo, true believer in that product :)

  13. Pheodora Holmes May 2, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    For baby showers I normally make up a hamper which includes nappies with some baby toiletries, especially the Elizabeth Annes & Purity’s baby shampoo. It’s a must have item that can be used both for baby and mom and I’m very happy to see that it’s included in this month’s Gem box. :)

  14. Cheri May 2, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    I always get baby bath wash such as j&j bedtime

  15. Marcelle May 2, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    I generally buy a baby sense sleep sac.

  16. Lizanne Pitt May 2, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    I tend to make my baby shower gifts, so either burp cloths or onesies with cute pics on. I also like to give something especially for mom, having had 2 kids, I know how awesome and vital it is to have something for yourself to feel human!

  17. Linda Laing May 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    What an awesome hamper for my baby.

  18. Lizelle May 2, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Spasmopep Junior

  19. roxy May 2, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    i love this hamper

  20. Sanet May 2, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    Rescue remedy! ….and nappies, nappies, nappies…

  21. anita dingwayo May 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Nappy and wipes

  22. Cheryl May 3, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Nipple gaurd from Nuk very handy

  23. Doné Else May 3, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    A bit of everything

  24. Rochelle May 3, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    A baby sleeping bag

  25. Alexandra May 3, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Things in bigger sizes- newborn things are so cute but everyone buys loads of little things so I think getting clothes and nappies for 6 – 12 months is a good idea. I like to think it makes life slightly easier for new parents for the first year, rather than just for the first couple of months.

  26. Cathy May 3, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    Such an awesome prize…would love to win it as a cousin is having her first baby in 2 months time and this would be a wonderful gift for her to start out as a new Mommy :)

  27. Ruth May 3, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Bio Oil!

  28. Simone May 3, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Johnson’s Baby Bedtime Bath, with lavendar extract is one of the best buys aside from their wet wipes which one can never go without these days. If im the lucky winner of a GemBox it will be shipped to my cusion in the UK who is expecting a baby boy soon! super exciting!

  29. Busisiwe Mabeqa May 3, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    I always get a soft fluffy blanket and a teddy bear.

  30. Rene Groyer May 6, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    I buy wet wipes,the pigeon ones are brilliant

  31. BethN May 6, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    nappies, whipes, toiletries always come in in handy

  32. Yolande Els May 7, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    A voucher from a store with Baby Products, and something for the new Mom to pamper and relax.

  33. Yolande May 7, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Voucher for Mommy and a Nappy bag with all needed inside.

  34. Minelize Marais May 8, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    I love to buy clothes and lots of nappies, because we all know how expensive they are!!! I also try to do something unique and make a baby journal so that all the guests can write in it with all their advice and tips for the mommy to be!!!

  35. Mandy van der Merwe May 9, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Hi,

    I normally give Pigeon wet wipes because they are lovely and soft and have no scent or alcohol, perfect for sensitive bums… and they r cheap from BABY CITY ;).
    I also give vaseline… the BEST meconium-stop-sticking product!

    xxx

Leave a Reply